The Giving Cow

It is the day after one of my absolute favorite days of the year, Cow Appreciation Day.

For those of you not fortunate enough to know what I am talking about, or for those of you just living under a rock, let me explain.  One day a year a quick-service food chain called Chick-fil-A, whose mascot is a cow, gives away a ton of food.  What better way to celebrate the cow then a day giving away millions of pounds of his tasty arch enemy, the chicken, for those who wear any piece of cow paraphernalia on their body.

IMG_3677

Cow Appreciation Day is one of the greatest marketing tools that I have seen a restaurant chain ever do.  I have also been fortunate to have gone through three appreciation days myself as I worked at a local Chick-fil-A in Marietta.

With experience on both sides of this day I believe it has given me a different perspective.  I have seen Chick-fil-A’s waste an amazing opportunity to have fun and give away food with a cheerful heart, and I have heard grand stories of cow’s playing corn-hole with customers in the parking lot.  With this Cow Appreciation Day fresh on my mind, I wanted to talk about a specific Chick-fil-A who I believe did it right.

The Chick-fil-A off of Chastain road near Kennesaw State University didn’t have cow’s dancing in the parking lot, they didn’t have a dance party going on, or even have any obnoxious large signs posted.  What this Chick-fil-A did was have a table right at their entrance with a sign telling the hours of the free give-a-way, and these little headbands.

IMG_3680

This Chick-fil-A was going to already be giving away ten’s of thousands of dollars of chicken, but they went a step above and placed cow headbands at the front of the store to better serve their customer.  I loved it. I was blown away. For me, that is the whole reason for this post.  All because they gave with a cheerful spirit and wanted to make sure that everyone who came in could participate.

I know for me personally that there have been plenty of times when I had the opportunity to give and either didn’t, or I did it begrudgingly.  I am a thrifty guy, but I am going to take this gentle reminder from a local quick service restaurant and apply it to my life.  Who knew that a cow giving away millions of pounds of his arch enemy could teach such an impactful life lesson.

Make sure to not just give, but give generously.

 

Leave a Reply

