Thirty, Thriving, And Life Giving Words.

In just a handful of days I will be switching into a new decade.  It is a decade that most of my friends are already in, but most importantly my cougar of a wife has already been in this stage for a solid 7 months.  That’s right… I married an older woman.

 

Speaking of this older woman, she is the absolute best.  This past weekend I thought I would be on kid duty multiple times for multiple hours, but as it turns out, all of these doctor appointments and fun girlie things she had planned were just a rouse to throw me off.  Lindsay ended up surprising me with a getaway weekend to her parent’s cabin.  The best part, I know this will sound awful to some, was that it was with NO KIDS!

This trip could not have been timed more perfectly as our lives have been so hectic with all sorts of doctor appointments and health issues.  I’m pretty sure this helped save both of our sanity.

We got up to the cabin early in the afternoon on Friday, unpacked, and then just enjoyed a little bit of time in downtown Ellijay.  After dinner at 1907, we walked around a bit and then had some delicious ice cream from MooBears.  As we started to settle in for the night, she gave me my birthday gift and it quite literally blew me away.  One of my love languages is words of affirmation and she got dozens of family and friends to write letters to me for my 30th birthday.  I loved reliving some of the memories talked about, laughing at my stupidity and the crazy schemes I was a part of, and crying over the most humbling of words spoken over me.  I am not sure why I deserve such a great wife and community, but I am thrilled the Lord has blessed me with them.

Lindsay had worked it out where some friends of ours, Patrick and Kelsie Peters, came up to the cabin for some good quality time and fun. Patrick and I ended up golfing and even though I may have got a triple bogey on the last four holes, I am choosing to forget those and really focus on the ones where I got par and a bogey on.

This 30th birthday weekend was literally perfect.  Provers 18: 22 “He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.” No truer words have been written, and I know that Lindsay is the absolute best thing that has ever happened to me.  I am truly blown away by her thoughtfulness, planning, and the gift that she put together for me.  Those letters are a reminder of God’s goodness and grace.  Those letters remind me of the community that I have been fortunate to be a part of.  Those letters remind me of my love for community and the importance of sharing in people’s stories.  Lastly, those letters are a reminder that words can be life giving.  I am so grateful for these letters and I will cherish them forever.

I don’t think I could be more thrilled to enter this new decade surrounded by such an amazing wife, family, and life giving community.

Leave a Reply

