Going Gun Shopping

I can’t believe it has been 12 whole months since our little princess was born.  She is 12 months old today, June 15th, and I couldn’t be more nervous / excited for what lies ahead in the next 1 to 17 years.

I mean how did she go from this bundle of joy01-7C9B0742 copy

To this little cutie-pie with eight teeth, sitting up, crawling, taking her first steps, babbling, and rockin her photo shoot.

IMG_3305

As crazy as it sounds though, my thoughts are rushing into the future to the day she gets married. My favorite part of the wedding is when the person officiating the wedding asks, “Who gives this woman to be married to this man?”  I love this part because of what this is symbolizes. It is the passing of responsibility to love, care, and show affection to.  It is also the passing of the responsibility to fight for her purity, her heart, her relationships, and so much more daily.  My thoughts are rushing to this moment because I know that every woman who gets married doesn’t get this fairytale hand off.  Not every woman married has been fought for and protected, but my little girl will be.  I will fight for her little heart, hand, and soul daily.  I will protect her so that when these words are spoken 20+ years from now, we can look at each other and know that she has been protected, and will continue to be.

This time around, with my second child turning one, it’s different.  I have been thinking about this past year and what more I could have done.  I could have easily spent more time with her, but life, work and everything else has been crazy.  I could make a thousand excuses why I didn’t get as much time with her but to be honest, I really believe I gave her all the time I could.  It’s tough trying to give my time to everyone else, the family, and still provide for everything we need, and I only have two kids and a mid-level position at the company I work for.

As I look back at this past year, I see that I do need to be more present in the time that I get with Emma and the rest of my family.  Even if I am on call, my world doesn’t need to revolve around work, but the people who I go to work to provide for.  Work and a million other things have taken me out of the present moment, away from my family, and this next year of Emma’s life I am changing that.

I also know that as she turns one… boys are right around the corner. So… dad’s, hunters, marksman, NRA members, what kind of gun should I get to make sure that my lovely little princess is well protected from the little hoodlums that are going to try to date her?

Today, I still can’t believe it has finally arrived. She turns one, and I turn into a puddle. #ProtectHerHeart

One thought on “Going Gun Shopping

  1. Pingback: Sunshine and Birthday’s | Paul Stippich

Leave a Reply

