Playing In The Dirt Again

Let me be clear from the beginning, I definitely do not have a green thumb, and that is reason numero uno of why I did what I did. I brought out the big help and made my son work in the yard. Child labor? I think not. He was the one directing me and threatening me with a yellow shovel the whole time if I even thought of stopping to take a break.

For the past year, we have had a multitude of bushes in front of our house.  The bushes were the farthest thing from being uniform as there was no size or shape that was similar, and there were about three different varieties of bushes.  I should also mention that about 4 or 5 of the bushes were dead or dying.  Like I said, no green thumb.

This year I decided to use some of our hard earned tax money to create a different landscape.  A landscape that favored my skills and saved me from pretending to prune and shape these dying bushes in the Summer.  At first, Lindsay was against the idea, but my stubbornness won out, and she is happy to say that for once… I was right in pushing through.

It felt so good to play in the dirt for an entire day.  I stinkin love gardening now.  It is just so exhilarating ripping up plants from the earth, digging holes, much like Shia LaBeouf, and plunging your hand into fertilizer and having it smell like poop for the rest of the evening. I mean it truly is a dream.  It also helps when you have the cutest helper.

With all of the expert advice from Pikes and Sam’s hardest working helper…Pop’s, who came to help finalize plant placement and show this young gun how to properly plant, I think our front looks worlds better.

Now, heres to hoping that all that hard work doesn’t go up in flames this Summer.

Leave a Reply

