No Ticker-Tape-Parade

Just the other day I accomplished my goal of getting to a certain weight. Yep, it was just about two months after my original victory date, but hey… I stinkin accomplished that goal and I should have been overjoyed.

Yes, should have been is what I just said.  Now don’t get imagesme wrong, I am super pumped that I reached the goal, but when I reached it there was no confetti that dropped from the ceiling, no balloons to kick around like a happy Bill Clinton, no banner with my before and after picture swung into view, and I didn’t win any show like “America’s Biggest Fatty” ( I only watch Hulu, Netflix, and The Bachelor so forgive me for not knowing the name of the show).

It was a strange feeling because once I hit the goal, my mind went to, “Well, what’s next?”  I know we all do that. Instead of being pumped with the accomplishment, we have a five second celebration and then try and work out what’s next.  The Fitbit app. I use to track my stats even told me to set a new goal right away. I mean how coconuts is that?

After having time to think over all of this and what God has been showing me this new year, I am reminded that when we create goals that are focused just on us, they are so pathetic and weak.  We need to think generationally as Stephen Mansfield talks about in his book, The Search for God and Guinness.  When we start to do that, we start to focus on something bigger than ourselves like as it talks about in Matthew 6:33 “Seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

What makes the fact that I accomplished my goal important is that it has built a foundation of health for me personally.  It also matters because as no confetti dropped from the ceiling, I was reminded of the real purpose of becoming more healthy and sacrificing so much to get there, and that is so I will be able to do whatever, whenever, with my kids.

 

Leave a Reply

