A Great Toilet Read

I love reading.  It is something that I am glad that I grew to love again.  I say again because back in elementary school all of those programs designed to help kids read more really killed my love for books.  I’ll tell you what, one way to kill a passion is to force yourself to do something you love for a grade.

But I digress…

A couple of weeks ago I went to the cabin with my in-laws and my  father in law had a book up at the cabin by Ken Blanchard called “Simple Truths of Service: Inspired By Johnny the Bagger.”  It was a really thin book with pictures and large font so I decided it was a book for me.

As I got into the book I was just slapped across the face time and time again with some simple truths that I knew I had to share.

  • What can you do to create memories for those you work with and your customers.
  • Go out of your way to serve.
  • “Aim for service and success will follow” -Albert Schweitzer
  • “The best way to have a good idea is to have lots of ideas.” – Linus Pauling
  • No one can make you serve customers well.  Thats because great service is a choice.
  • Don’t be like everyone else.
  • “Always give the customer more than they expect.” -Nelson Boswell
  • “Some men see things as they are and say ‘why?’ Others dream things that never were and say ‘why not?'” – George Bernard Shaw
  • “We do not remember days. We remember moments.” – Unknown
  • “The customer is the most important visitor to our premises.” – Mahatma Gandhi

I mean seriously, are your cheeks hurting because I know mine are?

As I kept reading it was like a little golden nugget fell into my lap with each turn of the page. As I kept thinking over this book and reading the notes that I took from it, I was struck about one more thing, these concepts that the customer is the most important person and that we need to create moments and memories for those we come into contact with can directly relate to my family.

I need to stop just focusing on work and pour into those that are most important to my life.  If I really want to build up my family and build a legacy, I need to start applying these concepts to Lindsay and the kids, because they are the most important people on our premises.  I need to not just create moments for others, but focus on creating moments for them as well, because my legacy and the impact my family can have on this world depends on it.

Leave a Reply

