A Taste Of The Future.

I never thought it would happen. Never in a million years did I think it would happen. What happened, you ask? I am slowly becoming my parents.

I remember growing up, and even now, that my parents would get my name wrong. Now it wasn’t that they ever called me the name of a person I wasn’t related to, but they missed my name a bit, and it hasn’t gotten better. Now they eventually land on my name, even if it takes them a few tries, but I never thought this would happen to me.

I find myself slurring my kids names together from time to time, but the worst was only two weeks after my little Georgia peach…whats her name…yes, Emma, was born.

I went to the vital records office to get her birth certificate only a couple weeks after she was born.  I filled out the form and as the kind lady was trying to retrieve the document for me, she couldn’t find anything on my daughter.  We looked in all sorts of ways and I even ended up calling the hospital’s records department to no avail.  Just when I was about to give up hope, the hospital’s records department calls back and lets me know that “Mr. Stippich, she wasn’t born on the 16th, but the 15th.”

UGGGGGGGHHHHH! I mean not even three weeks old and I am already forgetting the exact day she was born, and to top it off, the 16th was the day Sam was born.  So maybe my mind is already slipping and I am switching my kids’ birthday’s and names all willy nilly.

I never thought it would happen.  Never in a million years did I think it would happen. So let me give this warning to all you young whipper snappers starting their families and building your legacies… you too will eventually start becoming your parents.

img_0389

Leave a Reply

