Be Careful: Two Potentially Dangerous Words

“I meant what I said and said what I meant. An elephant’s faithful one-hundred percent!” – Dr. Seuss

I know, some of you may be shaking your head and thinking ,Lindsay surely has her hands full with a three-year-old, a newborn, and if Paul believes that those two words, be careful, are dangerous.  She really does, but that is true regardless of my thoughts on these words.

I love my kids dearly, even more than I love sweets or free food.  I want the absolute best for them, but I honestly don’t think having those two words as a mantra for their lives would be beneficial at all.  I think there is a definite need for them to be careful and not run with scissors in their hand, hold fireworks in their mouth, (which is something I may or may not have done in high school) play in shark infested water, or spend all of their money on get-rich-quick schemes.  In these examples and millions of more less drastic ones, it is wise for my kids, especially Sam and his bumbling feet, to be cautious, but I don’t want them to lead a life of worry and fear.

I have been thinking a lot about these two words and creating a balance between being careful and being adventurous.  I don’t want Sam to hold my hand through everything. Of course I don’t want him getting hurt, but I also care that my son isn’t hindered in his future endeavors because he wants to be careful and he eventually misses out on some great opportunities.

I have no grand advice or a set rules on how to create this balance, but what I do know is that I want to be mindful and not just throw out those two words.  I want my son to run and have fun, to get scrapes, bumps, and bruises, and to learn all that he can from life, but I don’t want those lessons learned from a protective bubble.  Instead, I want those lessons learned from an adventurous curiosity that may at times make his mom and I sweat just a little.

I may be crazy, in fact I sure I am, but I think we can all learn a little from this parenting lesson of balancing being careful with being adventurous.  Where is the balance, I haven’t a clue, but what I do know is that I will be by my sons side ready to help whenever the need arises.

Leave a Reply

