Don’t Miss The Moment

“Life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.”

Ferris, what a wise, nay… a sage high school student.  That little piece of advice is so true and on so many levels.  As I have been thinking over this post, two different events have come up that have really put this movie quote into perspective.

The first event was the tragedy down in Orlando at the LGBTQ club Pulse.  It really was a horrific event that was spurred on by evil.  As I was listening to The Relevant Podcast, which is produced by a company out of Orlando, they had some special guests on that mentioned an article from a long time ago from a everyone’s favorite, Mr. Rogers. In an interview he mentioned that whenever a tragedy happened on the news, his mother would tell him to “Look at the sidelines.”  What his mother was saying was that no matter what tragedy was taking place, look at the sidelines, because there is always more good being done then the tragedy at hand. In the case of the mass shooting at Pulse, if you stopped and looked at the “sidelines,” you would have seen the Red Cross turning people  from donating blood and told to come back because there was too big of turnout and they couldn’t process all of the people.  They also had to turn away supplies given to help the victims at the scene because there was such a positive response from the community there was too much given.  I am not trying to make light of what happened in any way, I was just blown away by that comment, look at the sidelines, because as we do, we begin to see life in the midst of death.

The second event happened just the other day.  I arrived home to an empty house and so I started working on fixing some things. I was able to finish one of the items before my family got home, but as I started to work on fixing our clothes washer, Lindsay, Sam, and Emma arrived.  I say my hello’s and Sam “helps” for a moment, but I am focused on the washer since we would like to be able to wash clothes in our own home.  After I think I fix it and am testing the washer, I play with Sam a for a moment just before dinner.  As we are eating dinner, some things happens at work that are time sensitive and I leave the table and start resolving the problem.  After everything is settled, Sam and I have only a few minutes to play and when I mention going to bed he screams and is just broken. He starts acting out and being a real pain, but Lindsay says something that brought what was happening into focus.  She said that she really thought this whole tantrum was because he didn’t get enough daddy time tonight and that he just wanted more attention.  As soon as she said that, the night flashed before my eyes and I realized that he was vying for my attention the whole night but I was giving it elsewhere.  I was crushed and I hate that my little guy didn’t have any other way to express it then acting out.  As a parent, I need to be more aware of what is going on around me, especially with my kids.  I know there will always be things to fix and jobs to do, but there is only one Lindsay, Sam, and Emma, and only so much time I am given with them, and I can’t let those moments just pass me by.

Remember, life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

One thought on “Don’t Miss The Moment

  1. Pingback: Big Boy Ahead | Stippichio

Leave a Reply

