How To Win Friends At The Office.

I would just like to start off by saying I love where I work and I love my department even more.  I think the people in the logistics cube are downright the best employees at Tip Top. Ok, now with that out of the way, lets get down to business (to defeat… the Huns.)

A couple of weeks ago I learned something invaluable and I wanted to pass it along because I know we could all use more friends in the workplace.  So, forget the golden rule and instead,  jot this little nugget down: Before you call someone a name or shove them in a category, know what said word and or category means.

Let me explain. Our cube, which consists of four people, started talking about sign spinners.  You know who I am talking about, the guys and gals that rock it out with some headphones in their ears dancing the day away flipping around a piece of cardboard so that you can’t read the name of their employer, all to entice you to come into a place of business.  We were talking about sign spinners and one of the guys asked, “What do you even call those guys, spinsters?”

Which I responded, “Woah, don’t call them spinsters, that would be offensive to (lets call her Abby) Abby.” Which Abby then turns to me looking befuddled and shocked… just blinking away.  And I continue on, “Thats what you are right? A spinster?”  As I look around me to see now all three looking shocked, my face starts to flush as I am beginning to realize I have no idea what I just said really means, but I just keep on going.  “Yah, a spinster. Like someone who sews things and creates stuff like jewelry.”

Let’s just say my stupidity was about the only thing saving me at this point because lets be honest, I didn’t use a shovel to dig my potential grave with this one, I used a stinkin backhoe loader, one of those big construction machines.

It turns out the word that slipped my mind was seamstress.  And for those of you who missed the whole bid deal, let me give you the definition of each.

Spinster: A woman who is not married, especially a woman who is no longer young and seems unlikely ever to marry. Which just because Abby is a woman and currently single doesn’t inherently mean that she is a spinster, it just makes me seem like a big jerk.

Seamstress (The word I wish I said): A woman who sews.  Which is what Abby does.

Now, I am sure you can see how I got those words mixed up…right?

Where were we now. Ah yes, my funeral.  Like I said, my stupidity was the only thing that saved me, and the fact that I am not THAT big of a jerk.  Plus, Abby was incredibly gracious and the rest of the team didn’t give me too much grief.

Guys, I am just glad I survived to tell this story and that I could give you all some winning advice on how to win friends at work. In a nutshell: Know the meaning of words and make sure to use them in the right context.

Leave a Reply

