Words Can Kill

Sometimes people just don’t think about the words they use.  I know for me personally there are times when I open my big mouth and what comes out is just a river of stupid.  I know this is shocking to those of you who know me, but its true.  I wanted to give this preface because today’s story actually isn’t about my craziness, but about something that happened to me.

Currently, I work in an office environment which means I am sitting for large portions of the day where only just a year ago I was in shipping so I would be walking around all over the facility, monitoring our product, and helping load trucks.  I went from an active job to one that is very sedentary.  The best part is, this switch happened at one of the most glorious times of the year… the holidays.  As you can see from the posts before, I love me some food.  Needless to say, this past holiday season I may have gained about 15 lbs… I know what your thinking, “Fatty fatty two by four, can’t fit through the kitchen door.”

Well mid holiday season one of the workers who I love came upstairs and was talking to someone in the department.  I passed by them with my lunch and the employee said, “Woah, looks like someones butt has gotten big. I mean, have you gained like 20 lbs?”  Luckily I had a friendship with this person so the comments didn’t cut as deep.  I joked around with them and went on my fat jovial way, but man… it kinda hurt.  Two more times over the holiday season, and even just last week someone I worked with mentioned my weight.  I mean luckily I have thick skin, probably due to my fatness, but their words kinda hurt.  I mean as exciting as it is to hear, “Woah, looks like someone has gotten big.” is, I am realizing that just because we are friends with someone or have a great relationship with them, it doesn’t mean that we can say whatever we want.

I’ll tell you something though, a new adventure has started my friends, and its all thanks to words, because there is no greater inciting incident then to have multiple people tell you that you look hefty, or getting a yearly physical exam and seeing your weight hit numbers you thought you had left behind.  So now, I am eating better, working out, and just being more active. Pro tip: use your child as an exercise  weight, what a solid thirty pound kettle bell that kid is.

Let this new adventure begin.

 

One thought on “Words Can Kill

  1. Pingback: Dad Life: Dad Bod | Stippichio

Leave a Reply

