It’s Not What You Say, But How You Say It.

bitmoji-20160506055550I work in a department at work that at times can be very stressful, logistics.  Logistics is full of some people with tempers that want things done yesterday, and if their plans don’t go how they expect them to, they get frustrated.  I know how they feel, because when my plans get shifted and changed, it can be quite annoying.

One thing I know is that no matter what happens, it usually isn’t the fault of the  person I am talking to.  This individual just happens to be caught in the middle of it, and even if it was their fault, I know that if it was me, I would still want to be treated with respect.

All of this intro leads me to what happened a couple of days ago.

I was at home and received a call back from one of the supervisors at our other plants and I asked if he knew why it was taking hours longer than it should have to load a truck. As we talked more and more about this issue I was getting more and more heated and my tone was one of frustration, which obviously was putting my teammate on the defensive.  Right in the middle of all of our conversation he says that I need to watch my tone.  That response hit my like a ton of bricks and made me realize that still have some things to learn.  It ended up that almost all of  the reasons why they were behind in loading the truck were not their fault and couldn’t have been prevented.

Now, before we even finished our conversation I stopped in the middle Of it all and appologized.  I said that my tone was inappropriate and there was no reason for me to respond like that.  I said I had been in the wrong because there was never a reason I should have treated a fellow teammate, or anyone else, like that.

From this instance I learned two things: One is that no matter how I am feeling, I always need to treat people with respect, not just with my words, but with my tone.  The other is no matter how the other person chooses to respond during and after the situation, I need to own up to my own actions and make sure that I treat them how I want to be treated.

These two lessons are also old as time themselves, but I know that I obviously need the constant reminder.

Leave a Reply

