Not More, But Better

I am not sure about you, but I love my morning commute to work.  The steady pace through traffic before the sun can even be seen on the horizon.  Now its not the crazy drivers or early morning construction that I love, but the fact that I can just chill on my way to work, listening to podcasts and processing the information I am hearing.

There is one podcast that I listen to by Dale Partridge called “Startup Camp.”  His podcast is about helping entrepreneurs, which I am not…yet, with growing their business and having a life, not just a job.  At the end of every podcast he asks his guest what one of their favorite quotes are.  One week his guest was Jeff Goins, who is a champion writer, and he shared one from his friend Sean D’Souza.  The quote was, “Not more, but better.”

The context of this quote  came from when Jeff and Sean were having dinner and Jeff asking why Sean would only accept so much business a year and why wouldn’t he want to grow and do more.

In hearing this quote, it was a great gut check because I found myself, as I am sure a lot of you do, thinking that the only way to grow was to do more.  I thought that by adding more to my plate and sacrificing some of the things I love I would grow, but as Sean said, its not about doing more, it is about refining yourself and what you do so that you are doing it to the absolute best of your ability.

I don’t need to constantly be adding things to my life.  In fact, I should be actively looking about taking more and more things off of my plate so that I can focus on what really matters and gives me life.  By saying no and taking away things that just don’t matter, it gives me time to do what I enjoy doing and to be in the moment with those I love.  Now I know this is a lot harder to do then it sounds, but this giant elephant of a task can be done one bite at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

