Stressed to THE MAX!!!

I’m not sure about you, but I literally just went through the most stressful season of my life and I am pumped that my heart didn’t explode and that I still have a full head of hair.

Just to give a little more context, my wife and I are pregnant with our second little baby, a girl.  We have just recently sold our home and bought a new one.   We have started in a women and mens Bible study.  I transitioned into a new, very hands on, numbers driven role to cover for someone on maternity leave.  I have been asked to help train a new group at my church, and we have a two year old adventurous little boy, and probably a couple other things that are escaping my mind.

Now I know the list I gave may not seem like a lot to some, but it was quite overwhelming to us.  Constant phone-calls about the new house and making big boy decisions with my wife.  The stress of doing well at my new job and completing some training that they asked me to go through at work.  I mean aren’t you getting heart palpitations just reading this???   But I digress, because I am writing this post on the other side of this stressful season.

At times, the stress seemed way to much to handle, but after every big decision and after every event, like my dad and I snapping some plumbing to the dishwasher and water spraying all over the new house that we didn’t even own at the time, life moved on.  I realized that if the worse thing was a little bit of water in the kitchen, or missing out on $5,000 over thirty years, nothing seemed earth shattering when I compared it to all the life I have lived and will live.  That brought a lot of peace. That one thought changed the way I handled some accidents.  That thought, took away quite a bit of stress.

Stuff is going to happen.  Some of it will be in our control, and the other stuff won’t.  We just have to deal with it when it comes up and realize that life will continue to move on.  We have to realize that in the span of the thirty plus years, you and I have left to live, that one accident or worry doesn’t have to amount to much.

So, what is one big stress or issue that you have recently gone through and how did you handle it on the back end?

 

 

Leave a Reply

