Sore Loser

I am probably the worst loser in the world… nay, the universe.

I get so emotionally invested into competitoins, even of the useless variety like Mario Kart on the Nintendo Wii.  Whenever I have these outbursts I always feel so dirty and horrible. I mean who really wants to see a grown man complain and gripe, because I know that I surely don’t.

In my most recent loss to my wife on the Wii, my first thought after our competition and my outbrusts were over was what would happen if I had responded in love?  Now I am not suggesting that I give her a big fake highfive and false words, but what if my actions didn’t reflect my emotions?  What if had I humbly said congrats, gave a kiss and even did a little playful jarring?

I am learning that love is definitely more than a feeling, it is action.  It is something that I need to do more of for sure, especially after losing in any sort of competition. What I am realizing is that losing and the emotions that flow from that loss only last for a fleeting moment, BUT my actions can potentially last for a lifetime.

I know that I don’t want my son to grow up and hate playing with me or to play golf with friends and kill the fun time.  Instead, I want to respond with love, the action, and temper my emotions with some positive responses.

Leave a Reply

