What can a penny buy?

For my birthday I wanted a new pair of sneakers because my old ones where dirty with grease, wear and tear from me trying to be healthy and working out, and they smelled like a wet dog.

I had some birthday money burning a whole in my pocket so my family and I went to the outlets to go look for some new kicks. We ended up purchasing some shoes at Foot Locker because it was buy one get one half off.  So after I found the pair of shoes that I wanted my wife looked for a pair for herself as well.  While she was looking, I took my son out of the store and started walking around because he had been ready to leave for about 15 minutes.

We ended up out a fountain outside and I helped put him on the edge of the fountain so he could put his feet in.  A few minutes passed and a little boy came to the fountain with his mother and she gave her son some change to throw in.  After the boy threw a few coins in the water, he looked over at my son and walked over and handed him a penny.  My 22 month old son takes the coin, signs thank you, and looks confused because he has absolutely no clue what to do.  I tell him to throw the coin in the water and he does with expert precision.

After a few more moments,the boy and his mom left, but his gesture stuck with me.  I thought about how something so small, like the gift of a penny, could have such a massive impact on a moment.  It’s amazing to think how giving up something, no matter how small, can help create and shape the moments we experience.

I know that I never want to forget that small actions can lead to big changes.  I never want to forget what type of impact giving a penny can have.

Leave a Reply

