Word Vomit

I have come to realize that I am a word vomiter.

I am an incredibly passionate individual and get amped up like a dog chasing a squirrel, and just spit up everything that is on my mind. I hope that when I do this it will create an interest so people will ask me more questions.  What I have realized though, is that they almost never do.  Instead, they give a polite nod, look at their imaginary wrist watch, turn, and walk away.

About the 100th time this happened to me, it dawned on me that people don’t want to be covered in chewed up, jumbled up thoughts and words.  Instead, all they want are tastes.

Our world is built off of tastes.  Taste of Italy, fast of Marietta, taste test, “Taste and see that the Lord is good.” I mean look, it’s in the Bible for Pete’s sake.  Industries are built off  of it.  Think about food courts in malls as happy workers pass out “Chinese” food or how drug dealers let you have a sample (I’ve only heard – not 1st hand knowledge).

How have we missed this huge fact while others, like Root Radius, are doing an amazing job at leading organizations through a process to clean up this word vomit. I am still amazed at how following this practice of giving tastes works wonders and leads to greater opportunities and better conversations.  Even though I personally still stink at handing out tastes of conversations and thoughts, which my wife can surely attest to, I am improving.

How have you seen your word vomit, or your tastes of conversations, play a role in your life and relationships.

Leave a Reply

